Welcome to the Social Studies Department

Curriculum

The social studies department has revised our curriculum and we have created new units of study in 6th and 8th grades. The Atlas Curriculum Maps do not yet reflect the changes we have made to Grades 6 & 8.

First, a little background: Last year, a K-12 Social Studies Curriculum Committee met to map the units of study across our district.  By reviewing the sequence and correlating them with the MA Social Studies Frameworks,  it was determined that revisions to our current curriculum maps was necessary.  Social Studies teachers from CMS attended the National Council for Social Studies conference in Washington, DC last year to examine new curricula and brought back their recommendations to the department. We then undertook a thorough review of multiple possibilities and selected the textbook program to pilot this year. The winner is...National Geographic!

National Geographic combines authentic National Geographic exploration and media into a standards-based program creating a shared experience for all students.

Our teachers have been working hard this summer to revise curriculum and they are all eager to see how the students respond to new approaches to experiencing social studies in grades 6 & 8. Please ask your children what they think about it and feel free to give us your feedback as the year progresses.

 

Staff

Seeta Durvasula

8th Grade Sky, Social Studies
sdurvasula@concordps.org

Brian Revell

6th Grade Lime, Social Studies
brevell@concordps.org

Nicolai Calabria

7th Grade Salmon, Social Studies
ncalabria@concordps.org

Kellee McNeill

8th Grade Royal, Social Studies
kmcneill@concordps.org

Robbie Robbins

6th Grade Forest, Department Chair, Social Studies
rrobbins@concordps.org

Joseph Meyer

7th Grade Maroon, Social Studies
jmeyer@concordps.org

Wendy Pfaffenbach

6th Grade Kelly, Social Studies
wpfaffenbach@concordps.org

Matthew Hay

7th Grade Cardinal, Long Term Sub, Social Studies
mhay@concordps.org