Welcome to the Social Studies Department

Curriculum

The social studies department has revised our curriculum and we have created new units of study in 6th and 8th grades. The Atlas Curriculum Maps do not yet reflect the changes we have made to Grades 6 & 8.

First, a little background: Last year, a K-12 Social Studies Curriculum Committee met to map the units of study across our district.  By reviewing the sequence and correlating them with the MA Social Studies Frameworks,  it was determined that revisions to our current curriculum maps was necessary.  Social Studies teachers from CMS attended the National Council for Social Studies conference in Washington, DC last year to examine new curricula and brought back their recommendations to the department. We then undertook a thorough review of multiple possibilities and selected the textbook program to pilot this year. The winner is...National Geographic!

National Geographic combines authentic National Geographic exploration and media into a standards-based program creating a shared experience for all students.

Our teachers have been working hard this summer to revise curriculum and they are all eager to see how the students respond to new approaches to experiencing social studies in grades 6 & 8. Please ask your children what they think about it and feel free to give us your feedback as the year progresses.

 

Staff

Kara Tranghese

House 5, Social Studies
kbochicchio@concordps.org

7th Grade Social Studies
Sanborn

Sue Cotter

House 4, Social Studies
scotter@concordps.org

6th Grade Social Studies
Sanborn

Seeta Durvasula

House 4, House 5, House 6, Social Studies
sdurvasula@concordps.org

Department Chair
6th, 7th, & 8th Grade Social Studies
Sanborn

Jennifer Gennaco

House 6, Social Studies
jgennaco@concordps.org

8th Grade Social Studies
Sanborn

Daniel Murphy

House 2, Social Studies
djmurphy@concordps.org

7th Grade Social Studies
Peabody

Brian Revell

House 1, Social Studies
brevell@concordps.org

6th Grade Social Studies
Peabody

Robbie Robbins

House 3, Social Studies
rrobbins@concordps.org

8th Grade Social Studies
Peabody